Drink Deadly Delight For Wasps

Along the drive home from Vancouver we stopped for a while at Bromley Rock. This is a place along the Similkameen River which has been a popular spot for summer water fun. Some jump off the rock into the stream while many just have fun in the river. It’s not uncommon for floaters to stop for a while, we used to years back.

And there’s a Provincial Park with picnic tables. Which is were this sorry tale of woe occurs …

I had a drink, a smoothie, from Dairy Queen. My friend Ken and I sat at the picnic table while his wife went down to the water. We weren’t alone … a few ants wandered the table and a Wasp hovered nearby.

It didn’t take too long for the wasp to become interested by something and it began a serious search mode behaviour darting here and there to find the thing that smelled so good. Pretty soon it was clear that my drink was the object of its desire.
I tried covering the wide mouth of the hemispherical lid. Not enough.
I moved it under the table … eventually the wasp found it.
I moved it back above and the wasp followed.
Now had it on my hand and when I waved it to shoo the wasp away the opposite happened: it found my hand smelled good too so it followed my palm around!

So I eventually let it have the remains of the drink and backed away. Shortly the wasp was joined by friends … watch and see what happened then. (I will point out that you need the Google Chrome web browser to view this video correctly.)

NOTE: I DID dump the drink onto the ground shortly after turning the camera off. The last I saw one of the wasps was managing to drag itself out of the slime to safety. Maybe it lived and maybe it became someone else’s snack – we didn’t stick around to find out.

This entry was posted in 360 degree video, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

