My Most Deadly Year (For Hard Drives That Is)

This morning I ran into a critical health alert for my Windows Home Server. One of its hard drives had failed …

I think this is the 4th drive failure I’ve seen this year.
All on different machines mind you.

This one will likely take out some backups. The last one took away the boot volume for my oldest i7 desktop PC. That one I’ve still got on the ‘back burner’ to try and recover somehow because I’d rather not lose the installed software, and some of the data, I had on it. It wasn’t being backed up … the original external BU drive had filled a while back and I hadn’t switched it to the WHS machine. But it’s backups would have been on the now failed drive …

I’m looking at adopting FreeNAS instead. My WHS is an older version 1 base on an Atom-CPUed dedicated box. I’d rather be able to adapt and extend the machine and I’m thinking FreeNAS is a better path for me. Plus FreeNAS costs time and hardware while WHS has software costs as well. Not just the actual WHS program but they’d want you to use anti-virus software and from what I’ve seen the AV vendors see WHS customers as having deep pockets. And for the range of PCs I already own the yearly AV subscription updates are getting pricy. Might be time to switch off some and replace others with Linux …

This entry was posted in tech gripes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

