If Software Breaks And No One Notices … Does It Hurt?

I had occasion to go back to look at pages from last Feb on my news site. Found the pages ok but there were no embedded videos … and there should have been a few.

So I checked and sure enough there were the embed shortcodes. I’m using JWPlayer but the older version 5. They’ve moved on to a different pricing model and to follow them I’d need to be generating revenue from my site and that’s not happening right now.

I use this plugin because (1) it streams RTMP from Amazon’s CloudFront and (2) I have a paid license for this version. I also like being able to put an internal playlist into the embedded player. I’ve been using it since before I moved to WordPress from DotNetNuke.

And it allows me to do all of that. Or at least it did the last time I looked. But it is not showing anything at all now … argh!

Just what I need.

A few quick checks and it looks a bit more than I can fix now. And official support for this version of the player is terminated so I’m back to shopping around. And there are a number of Amazon Web Services oriented alternative with cheaper pricing than JWPlayer is at right now.

S3Bubble is one. It integrates quite well with S3 so you can browse your S3 buckets for media right in the plug-in. Another one I’m looking at is S3 Media Maestro. It’s more economical but doesn’t give you the same S3 browsing ability. You have to copy and paste media file URLs. It’s more economical. But if I ever get helpers S3Bubble would be easier I think.

This entry was posted in misery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

