I’ve become a public figure

Well it’s gotten to 1:20 AM and I’m finally swinging round to doing this post.

At points throughout the day the thought had passed through my head that nablopomo months with topics might actually be easier. Trying to come up with something to say does not always result in something that’s not just contrived on the spur of the moment to meet this daily blog post commitment.

It’s not as if I haven’t been busy with words among other things. I’ve put over 1300 into a missive on introducing my new course change for the society I head. And at some point it will get into the society’s G+ blog … but that’s not this blog and it’s not there yet. Looks like too much all at once so I have to spend time trying to refashion it into effective pieces.

And I recorded a local multi-group Dance Extravanganza evening show. A friend’s CanCan troupe hosts this event. This year there were dancers from local groups, a dance school and a celtic dance group from Kettle Falls in the states. I record it and make a copy for their purposes.

This year I gave it a plug about an hour before. Sent a pic of them setting up the stage and reminded people it was happening. That prompted some comments and queries. One person asked if I was recording it. Another asked if it would be on the web later … which caused me to have one of those ‘temporal snaps’. Like your head was so far down a path since you had last done something that you didn’t realize how far you had come. For me it was the realization that for a while now I’d been a bit replaced by someone else doing these and in the mean time a whole crop of people had become more aware of me because I was putting more and more video on the web. Now I’m coming to understand that they believe that if I record it then they will be able to watch it later on the web. Which normally would be so but in this case I’m doing it for someone else (and I have no releases from the dancers) so it’s not mine to post.

And in a strange way it dawns on me that I’ve arrived at a place I had wondered about before. A place in the minds of a growing number of people in my town that look to me as an extra pair of eyes on the things that are happening. Lately, and maybe this is just the election madness prompting it, people have stopped me in public to give me thank yous. And not just for the videos but for vocally taking a stand against idiots, and their idiocy, on Facebook and in the editorials I post. It’s kinda weird but I’ve become a public figure. They’re watching what I produce and reading what I say.

And I can see it in the way I write now. I mean this growing awareness of being paid attention to might have caused me to think about what I’m writing and how it’s affecting those I might be arguing with as well as those who might be on my side. It might be making me more reasonable and maybe even more diplomatic. I might be – gasp – growing up!

This entry was posted in rambling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

