Lights, Cameras, Action – Democracy

Well this evening our town is having a public forum for some of the candidates in the upcoming civic election. Last time the forum was the School Trustee Candidates and City Council Candidates (Aldermen). Tonight it is the Candidates for Regional District Area ‘D’ Director and City of Grand Forks Mayor.

Last time I did this I broadcast it but i wasn’t what I had hoped from a technical standpoint. I’m constantly searching for a low cost solution to video mixing and broadcast that works on my laptop. In January I tried XPlit. It looked good but every time I went to use it I was let down. Recently I purchased ManyCam. It looked good too but when I tried to do my first live webcast it failed on me as well. (I should really get these things tested before I take them to the live events, I know) Tonight I am going to try again … using SplitCam, ManyCam and Google HangOuts On Air. In addition to my hardware video mixer, a Roland.

Please do not think I go to these events and simply throw my hands up when things fail – I almost always have a fall back. And most often I can livecast. IF that’s not possible I record and produce a more polished version later.

What I’m trying to achieve is to mix real cameras coming in through a USB capture device with IP Webcams down on the floor. Simple enough on the surface. Oh, and record it as well while it’s being livecast. I’d like to be able also use USB webcams in the mix in other situations … tonight I won’t need that.

Here is the last forum in two versions: The top one is the live webcast and the bottom are the produced versions (I split the school trustees off from the city council). Right off the top I have to apologize for the sound …

The live forum

The School Trustees Forum

Council Candidates Forum

This entry was posted in videography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

