More on How Cells Become Certain Types

In a previous post I alluded to subconscious trains of thought run through my head. Here’s a bit on how I know that.

I’m a very visual person – I create visual content almost all the time and I notice things that others around me miss completely. Some part of my mind will cue off something in the visual field and a mental flare will go off and everything else goes on hold while I turn my attention to whatever it is I saw.

An example: watching a TV show and the camera moves through a living room as the characters do. On a table there are books, one off which is laying with the cover visible. The camera doesn’t stop or dwell on these books but something in my head said: go back and take a better look. So I do and find that they are a set of books written by a fictional character in another TV series that appears on the same TV network. So these were printed and placed just so they’d be seen but it was so subtle that most people’s subconscious might notice them but not alert them to the event. But mine did.

Today as I’m leaving the library and passing down the walkway my eyes took in the trees along the walk but my mind noticed that the small ‘sucker’ branches all grow up from the upward facing side of the bigger branches. And not only did it call that to my attention but it also connected that with the whole idea (from this post) that a cell knows which pages / chapters in the DNA to read / express because of chemical cues. microRNA that act as cellular programming agents.

This entry was posted in xcience and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

