Gee it’s technically tomorrow but I’m still in today, er, yesterday

So much for strict observance to the post-a-day regimen … it’s past midnight here now.

But I’ve always been a night owl and to me it’s today until I fall asleep and tomorrow when I wake up again so … here’s my late post for Monday.

It was a nice day for a drive on the highway in the mountains … 15 minutes out and then back again later. I hear there’s snow in other parts of the country but not her, not yet. (I can hardly wait 🙂

Anyhow … out to Christina Lake for another session instructing on making movies with the digital trails group. Now there’s a fork in the road on appropriate tool and the mix of ‘students’ has changed once again.

In conversation on possible alternative (to Adobe’s Premiere) video editing tools I discovered LightWorks. Which apprently has been used to make a few actual films and has a free version. As well as being available on Windows, Mac and Linux. Which would let everyone in the group learn editing on their own computer. And be productive. But I’ll have to school up on it in order to help them make the right choice and, if it’s feasible, learn how to produce with whichever tool they chose.

Today I showed them how easy Windows Movie Maker is to use – and how limited it is in comparison to Adobe Premiere. And that turned into a quick course on Premiere for the new team members. While I was giving the Movie Maker bit I noticed one of the ‘students’ splitting her attention between me and her laptop. I let that go on (they’re adults) and was glad I did later. She was actually busily using it to make a movie as I talked. Cool. She got it.

I’m thinking if the free LightWorks is easy and effective I might try to adopt it as the tool to use for my free video production workshop series. If I do it again … I want to but I’ve got to try and fit it into the other things I want to do. Like parody videos. And local Television (on the web) in our little town of 5000.

Anyway, I ran this once a week video workshop at the local library called ‘From You To YouTube’ for two summers. (skipped this summer though) I got Mac people, Windows people, no-pc people … and a mix of freebie of basic tools that are extremely limited. And varied … so if I was showing how-to on Windows it was of limited use to the Mac people. Or if someone has an actual video editing program that no one else had … you get the picture. But if I could say ‘just download this program and it will look and act just like the one I will show you on the big screen’ then it might be more effective.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

