More to remember before I sleep

I’m one of those people who will have a zillion browser Tabs and more than one browser Window open. And I’ll leave my computers like this for … ever or until they need restarting. And if I’m not the one doing the restarting I can lose pages ‘I was going to come back to and re-read’. But when I absolutely have to hit the sack and know there’s updates and a restart called for I have to do something with those pages.

But what?

Well … I can remember them here. So here goes …

Off at Space.com there’s an article about a mysterious energy ribbon out on the edge of the solar system. Mysterious Energy Ribbon? Yep, and you can check it out for yourself here: http://www.space.com/24692-mysterious-energy-ribbon-solar-system.html

Over at New Scientist they have a piece about Black Hole Bombs. Aside from the ‘bomb’ aspect of it there’s a different take on aspects of the physics of ‘the radius observable universe’ and its relationship to the possibility of spacial regions achieving higher than critical energy density. Apparently leading to ‘Primordial Black Holes‘. I’m still not all that sold no some of the concepts but it is interesting reading.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg22129550.600-black-hole-bombs-are-they-dark-matter-in-disguise.html#.UvxPBLRFAbg

And just the other day a milestone in applied physics was reached: A mad-made Fusion reaction produced more energy than they put into it. This has only taken decades to make happen. It was in many publications but this is a Sydney one:

http://www.smh.com.au/technology/sci-tech/scientists-achieve-turning-point-in-fusion-energy-quest-20140213-32jii.html

And lastly something from my own back yard so to speak. Out here in Western Canada we have some of the best fossil beds around. In Alberta they’re famous for their big lizards – there’s even one named after the place! In the Rockies we have the Burgess Shale. And now hey have found something as significant in British Columbia in the Kootenay National Park. http://www.vancouversun.com/travel/Scientists+discover+astonishing+fossil+site+mountain+park/9499179/story.html

Those first two items I found because I’d just tweaked my Google News feed. I added a new section that only reports stories that have the word ‘mysterious’ in them. This feature that allows you to have a personalized news feed with up to the minute sources is so Real-World Caught Up With SF. I Love It!

 

This entry was posted in xcience and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

