Another path away from here

Today I may be starting a departure from a ‘here’ that I’ve had as long as I can remember … TV world.
Back in the spring I asked for my Cable to be disconnected.
Time went by and it stayed live.
I go in and their records show it as having been disconnected …
We figure that maybe it’s some sort of freebie for volunteering on the community channel side of things but don’t really know.
But … the way I think of it is like this: TV may be my oldest ‘addiction‘ (or here). When it’s on, a part of me fixates on it while a lot of the rest of me goes into suspension. It’s that zombie-like state that gets you more relaxed than sleeping (ok, maybe it’s reading – but I seem to remember it as sleeping in more than one encounter with this idea in the past),
If I ask ‘Please stop it’ and they do not, it’s like having drugs delivered to a junkie’s front door. “You don’t have to do them you know …” just does not work. My hand can find the damned TV remote all by itself and my fingers find the On button on their own as well … I don’t want to close them up in a box because I do watch movies and do produce video and need to see it.
So … months went by and the cable kept working …
A month ago I noticed that someone had tipped the lid of the cable junction box in the lane and I reported it – hoping they’d notice I was still hooked up when they fixed it and disconnect me. Nope.
Today I come home and … snow. On TV. All channels. It’s been hours …
Could it be gone? For real this time?
Like – I have to find things to do with my time instead of mindlessly staring at the tube?
(just a bit of a shudder there)
Hmm …
So I’m blogging … and when I went to re-search the idea above (TV relaxes more than sleep) I found myself spending time reading … about being addicted to TV.
This is interesting stuff … but I feel kind of like I’m doing navel staring from the inside. I’ll have to find something else to do with my time.
Maybe a movie … Nahh, just kidding.
The house could use some organization … there’s editing to do … books partially read in the pipe … something will get chosen.
DIY entertainment
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

