work ethic part 2 – the speed of paperwork

RANT ALERT !!!
Paperwork is part of nearly everyone’s job these days.
Some people have no problems with it while others just can’t get it done.
And, without knowing the context and factors of any given situation, I can’t blame the others for faulty or late paperwork processing. The reasons may be out of their control.
Or maybe they just hate it and leave it until it’s past due … I don’t know.
Honestly, in my past I’ve been in all these categories.
And maybe, if Karma exists, I’m paying for my past laziness or bad habits now …
Whatever the reason, when paperwork gets left and not done there are always effects and ramifications. I think there’s a general feeling out there that slow paperwork in your job is just some sort of extra friction loss in the overall faceless machine that runs our society. As a group, many people harbour antagonistic feelings about the faceless machine they find themselves serving every day. So a little bit of slowdown can be felt as a personal piece of rebellion against the machine. And then they don’t feel so bad about taking an extra amount of time to get around to it.
And there’s that other group, the ones that get to determine how the machine’s resources are assigned. How many people does it take to perform some role? Let’s just use the barest minimum so we can look good because we’re saving our taxpayers / shareholders money. It let’s them shave off what they see as excessive while supposedly maintaining the same service level. Business managers and politicians get to make these decisions. They like words like expedient and efficient. And love numbers that make them look good.

Well that’s nice for all of you office trolls, political hacks and machine churls out there. I’m happy that your life is somehow enhanced.

The problem is that a lot of the ramifications of that paperwork slowdown rain down into the lives of real people. The faceless machine parts (companies, government offices) don’t suffer – real people do.

I’m one of those real people and every month that goes by I have to spend more and more money servicing my debt because somewhere along the daisy chain of paperwork there’s one or two forms that still have to be filled out … months later on. This month it’s over $800 – by summer it could be $900. It should be down under $200. If could be if only the paperwork was done.

One thing being waited on is a police report. Specifically the results of a criminal investigation. I don’t know what investigation there is beyond the accident scene analysis and that, the accident, was nearly 6 months ago. There may be more to it OR the police office could be so understaffed that it’s just taking as long as it takes. I won’t blame anyone here …

The other thing being waited on is a questionnaire from a doctor’s office. All they have to do here is fill in the blanks with information from the patient record of one or more visits that happened a while ago … is that too hard to get done? It should take less time and effort than the original visit. I’m not saying rush it and make mistakes … just get it done in a timely fashion and get it sent off.
I mean, come on – what’s the problem?

When all this paperwork slowdown gets through I’ll probably have spent an extra couple of thousand dollars because I couldn’t move my debt into a lower interest vehicle and had to pay bills with credit cards as a result. Making it worse and worse.
Somewhere down this path there’s place where the available credit is all used up. And the income doesn’t cover the month debts.

If the paperwork hasn’t moved by then I have to do something or go bankrupt or lose or sell my house. Which might be hard since the mortgage is one of the things on hold … waiting for paperwork …

So pleasedo the damned paperwork in your life. Somewhere, someone will be waiting for something that is waiting for something that is waiting for you …
When you screw the machine, you screw people. BUT the machine is faceless and feels no pain … people get hurt. So you’re really screwing people. People like me.

Some woman killed my wife and now bureaucracy is strangling my life.

She died instantly … I get to drag on and on …

This entry was posted in misery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

