work ethic

<RANT ALERT>
In the brief experience I’ve had dealing with insurance companies I can state one observation:
They go out of their way to dig down to get the details because in the details they may find something that serves their purpose – to get out from under paying out a claim.
BUT when they are performing a service for a client, the details aren’t necessarily all that important – it doesn’t affect their incomes or payouts.
Take the case of mine and my late wife’s mortgage for example.
The insurance company is doing due diligence by their stock holders and waiting for all the paperwork before making a decision. Even though she was killed in a highway accident (not her fault) they can ask every doctor she might have seen in the last 5 years if they told her something that she might have neglected to pass on to the mortgage company. As I understand it this is so that they might be able to enforce the details of the contract which would let them escape paying. Because of a missed checkbox or something small like that.
Think that over for a second: You might be standing in line at the bus stop and some drunk drives off the road and kills you and because you forgot to mark one little checkbox in a sea of paperwork when you were buying a house your spouse ends up carrying the mortgage.
Back to my case: While this ‘review’ goes on they are being gracious about making the payments. That’s nice until things go awry and somehow payment schedules become out of sync and payments are missed.
How attentive to details are they then?
Insurance company sends mail or fax to the mortgage company, and cc’s me, and there are multiple mistakes in the little details. In one case they are trying to be helpful but there are so many errors that the mortgage company would need a crystal ball to figure out which mortgage they are talking about … no mortgage number cited and my last name changed to my late wife’s (which is different).
I shouldn’t single just them out but they’re the ones causing me the most grief and money in the long run.
Maybe there’s a good reason for this. Over worked people? To many forms to fill out? Someone has their own problems and have no choice but to carry on working but this is the result. Could be … but in that case I’d say they should get some time off.
I can understand that a Coroner’s report might take months to complete even though I’m not sure of why.
I can’t understand why a simple questionnaire sits in a doctor’s office for months without being filled in and sent away. It’s a minor chore that doesn’t put any money into the doctor’s wallet – I understand that. But it’s a minor chore that effectively holds up my life and will ultimately cause me to have to shell out thousands of dollars more to service debt than I should have to.
But, hey – it’s not their problem, right?
What difference does it make to them if I have to sell the house or go bankrupt? They don’t even know what I look like so why the heck should they care …
Someone suggested letting them know how important it is. BUT I’d hate for them to rush the job and screw up some little detail which would take months or years to undo …
ARGHH – If they all had good work ethics then this rant would never have to happen …
This entry was posted in misery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

