insensitive me

And after we learn about listening we really should learn about paying attention …
How do we know what other people are thinking and feeling?
Well we could pay attention to what they say and how they behave and body english and, if they’re not very demonstrative, try and read between the lines … and I do that most of the time.
But sometimes I think that I work out how other people feel by sending out a ‘probe’, usually a bonehead move, and see how they react. It’s not really intentional (the boneheadedness) – just my M.O. This is not always a good thing …
I’m reminded of how the tanks in Desert Storm found the enemy – they kept shooting until someone shot back and then they knew their position.
I think I’m sometimes like that tank, shooting my mouth off until someone fires back and then I know their ‘position’ on whatever.
And like the bull in the china shop fragile things can get broken or hurt … people’s feelings. And that’s not a good thing.
If I’ve hurt your feelings as I stumble through my path please understand that I’m sometimes a person who behaves like a tank … my apologies.
This entry was posted in misery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

