Categories
xcience

Have we found Cyber-Popeye’s Spinach?

Like a lot of techie oriented people I follow the evolving field of robotics and the things that feed into it. In order for a robot to perform work it needs to be able to physically manipulate things in the real world. And that means some sort of equivalent to  ‘muscle’.

Over the years we’ve seen various ideas and technologies come along with promises of being able to make these muscles happen. Nitinol wires that change shape under controlled stimulus is one of those. Now there’s a competitor that’s cheaper: Fishing line.

Read more in the abstract at Science Daily: Powerful artificial muscles made from fishing line and sewing thread

By xamble

Most things I do involve computers. Nowadays that sounds stupid to hear because everyone uses computers. Except I was saying that before the IBM PC came on the scene. (hint: my first programs were entered on punch cards in an IBM-29)
Now I mostly use them.
Mostly to provide a community service in my small town. Because I could when it was asked and still can.
And I'm a wannabe writer. Various books in various states of incompleteness. A few short stories. Might do more of that.

Leave a comment